German Cooperative Banks Dominate New Crypto Authorizations

Fourteen of the 16 new crypto licenses issued to German banks cover only order execution, leaving custody arrangements separate.
Fourteen of the 16 new crypto licenses added to the ESMA register belong to German cooperative banks. Each authorization covers order execution only. None of the 21 cooperative institutions in the BaFin database are registered as crypto custodians. This distinction is critical for customers. A bank license does not automatically include the right to hold digital assets. The custody provider remains a separate entity.
The shift occurred between August 12 and September 10, 2026. MiCA Watch reports 31 local banks now hold MiCA authorizations. All serve Germany exclusively. The trend moves crypto access from specialist exchanges to traditional banking apps. Users must verify who holds the private keys before trading. The bank’s license does not disclose this information.
License Scope Limits Bank Responsibilities
MiCAR regulations list ten distinct crypto services. Institutions must apply for each service separately. A bank may be authorized to execute trades but not to custody assets. The European register specifies exactly which services each firm holds. This structure prevents a single blanket approval. Customers cannot assume full service coverage based on the bank’s entry in the register.
The authorization applies EU-wide only for notified countries. German cooperative banks have notified Germany exclusively. This limits their operational scope compared to international exchanges. The geographic restriction explains their specific profile in the European data. It does not change the service limitations for domestic clients.
Register Data Shows Clear Bank Dominance
The Industry Spread analysis confirms 87.5 percent of new entries are German banks. MiCA Watch calculates 88.2 percent for August entries. Both cite the ESMA machine-readable register as the source. Named institutions include Raiffeisenbank Schwaben Mitte and Volksbank Euskirchen. Other entries include VR-Bank Mittelfranken Mitte and Frankfurter Volksbank Rhein/Main. The data points to a consistent pattern of local bank entry.
Total register counts vary between data providers. MiCA Crypto Alliance reports 294 entries after the recent additions. CASP Tracker lists 338 providers as of September 7, 2026. The discrepancy likely stems from different counting methods. One counts institutions, the other includes notified branches. The direction of growth is unambiguous despite the numerical spread.
Custody Separation Requires Customer Verification
German crypto access is migrating into bank distribution channels. Users no longer need specialist exchange accounts in many cases. The offering appears directly in banking applications. However, the bank acts as an order execution venue. The actual holding of coins is managed by a third party. Customers must identify this custodian to understand risk exposure.
The license does not state who holds the keys. This information is not part of the BaFin authorization. It is a contractual or technical detail outside the regulatory register. Verification is the customer's responsibility. Ignoring this distinction leaves the holder of assets unclear. The bank facilitates the trade but may not control the asset.






